UK and the CBD

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (known as the UK) ratified the CBD on the 3rd June 1994. Further information is provided on how the UK implements the CBD.

The UK also has responsibilities towards 14 Overseas Territories and 3 Crown Dependencies. Information is provided on how the CBD is implemented in these territories.

Financial resources are available for the implementation of the CBD. The respective Governments of the UK provide funding within the UK for biodiversity conservation activities in their territories. The UK Government also provides funding outside the UK for biodiversity-related projects, including in the UK’s Overseas Territories.

All Parties to the CBD are required to submit reports on the measures they have taken to implement the provisions of the Convention. Further information is provided on the UK’s reporting to the CBD.

Each country that is a Party to the CBD establishes one or more National Focal Points to represent the Party between meetings of the Conference of the Parties in its routine dealings with the Secretariat of the CBD. The CBD website provides the UK’s National Focal Points for the CBD.

image of river with trees running alongside it
StainforthFoss - CClicense - ©DaveHaygarth