The United Kingdom

Government and Departments

The UK Government is responsible for all commitments as a contracting Party to the CBD. The Department of Environment, Food & Rural Affairs (Defra) leads on CBD issues, however, other UK Government Departments have responsibility for relevant policies and legislation, such as for planning, energy and climate change and for supporting the work in the Overseas Territories and Crown Dependencies.


The following Departments are the most relevant with regard to implementation of policy to meet the objectives and targets of the CBD's Strategic Plan for Biodiversity 2011-2020 in the UK:







Non-departmental Public Bodies



The UK National Focal Points for the Convention on Biological Diversity can be found here.


The responsible authorities for the component parts of the United Kingdom can be found in the respective pages for England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales and those for the Overseas Territories and Crown Dependencies to which the CBD has been extended.